Sign Up  |  Help  |  Log In
Friday, April 18, 2014. New Comics were 2 days ago
 
 
 

The Mice Templar: Destiny #1

Rating:
Review by DKnobius
Friday July 31, 2009 09:38:15 am
DKnobius's Ratings:
Story:
Art:
Cover:
45
pulls
 
story MICHAEL AVON OEMING & BRYAN JL GLASS art VICTOR SANTOS & MICHAEL AVON OEMING cover MICHAEL AVON OEMING variant cover VICTOR SANTOS & VERONICA GANDINI
Bryan Glass and Mike Oeming's epic fantasy adventure continues in this second story arc. Picking up right where Prophecy left off we see Karic and Cassius as they begin their new teacher/student relationship.

The issue opens up with a retelling of the battle that saw the end of the Templars. We get to see a little more in to the events of that fateful day, and it is outstanding in story quality. A huge two page spread reveals some of the major players in the battle and we are given a little more on the aftermath.

As Karic and Cassius journey on, Cassius recounts what lead to the woods they are skirting being haunted, and it is rendered in classis Templar style in beautiful watercolor. The tale is sad one, but the beauty of the art really make it stand out and grad your attention.

We get a look in to Karic's motivations to become a Templar, and see a little bit of the internal conflict in the character through a "vision" sequence. Also we get to see more into what drvies Cassius and the burden he is carrying with him. It is a tribute to Bryan's writing that we are drawn into the lives of these characters and really made to care for them.

Victor Santos takes over the art duties on the majority of the book, and there is no drop off in quality. Usually when a new artist comes on a book there is a distinct difference, but I can honestly say that if I hadn't known there was a new artist I probably wouldn't have noticed.

The colors on the book make each page come alive, and draw you in to this vast world that Oeming and Glass have created. The colors are vivid and really pull you in to the book.

Overall, a great start to the second arc of this fantasy tale, that should be read by any fan of fantasy. This book always impresses me, and you can tell that it is a labor of love for all involved in making it.
 

Would you like to comment?

Join comiXology for a free account, or Login if you are already a member.

Reviews by DKnobius

  • Near Death #1 by DKnobius – 1 month ago
  • The Mice Templar Vol. 3 #5 by DKnobius – 1 month ago
  • Supergirl (2011-) #1 by DKnobius – 1 month ago
  • Chew #9 by DKnobius – 1 year ago
  • Bomb Queen VI #1 by DKnobius – 2 years ago
  • Timothy and the Transgalactic Towel by DKnobius – 2 years ago
  • The Mice Templar: Destiny #2 by DKnobius – 2 years ago
  • The Mice Templar: Destiny #1 by DKnobius – 2 years ago
  • Proof #22 by DKnobius – 2 years ago

Latest Reviews

  • Hawkeye #19 by robantonucci – 2 weeks ago
  • Magneto #1 by vato315 – 1 month ago
  • She-Hulk #2 by vato315 – 1 month ago
  • Punisher #3 by vato315 – 1 month ago
  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #29 by RoseDuelist – 1 month ago
  • She-Hulk #1 by vato315 – 1 month ago
  • Revenger #1 by vato315 – 1 month ago
  • Harley Quinn (2013-) #3 by jpasqualini – 1 month ago
  • She-Hulk #1 by jpasqualini – 1 month ago
  • Daredevil #1 by DangerWoman – 1 month ago

Recent Comments

  • Bedrock City Comic Co., Houston, TX 77069 (1) – 3 hours ago
  • Phantom Zone Comics, Lynnwood, WA 98037 (2) – 1 day ago
  • Heroes & Villains, Hampton, VA 23666 (3) – 6 days ago
  • Packrat Comics, Hilliard, OH 43026 (13) – 1 week ago
  • Nightcrawler #1 (3) – 1 week ago
  • The Realm Games and Comics, Brea, CA 92821 (4) – 1 week ago
  • Daredevil #2 (1) – 1 week ago
  • Smallville Season 11: Summary (1) – 2 weeks ago
  • Ryan's Comics, Murrieta, CA 92562 (13) – 2 weeks ago
  • Swamp Thing (2011-) #30 (1) – 2 weeks ago
 
About Us  |  FAQ  |  Copyright Notices  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use  |  Ad Specs  |  iPhone  |  Podcast  |  Retailers  |  Contact Us